Taking Posession

COVER GURL

 

Finished Possession by A.S. Byatt on the subway last night, I have been listening to it as a book on tape for the last 2.5 months. slowly savoring it, reveling in every moment. As the doors opened at our stop last night the audio book, drew to a close and finished with a simple, THE END. I did not shed a tear, i did not stoically cry, THERE WERE BIBLICAL LEVELS OF FLOODS MADE OF TEARS FLOWING FROM MY FACE. It was so bad  that in a moment of sweet sweet love, Nicholas just held my hand and said “Why don’t we just ride the subway one more stop.” Which was much needed as at this point the world was just fractured light so distorted was my vision by my own weeping. I’d like to say it helped, but really all it did was give me enough time to collect myself in part as I continued crying all the way home. which was an even longer walk owing to the missing of the stop. (It’s at this point that I would like to let you all know I was also sober.) If you have not read it, i say to you, CANCEL all plans for the week and run to the nearest book store, for POSSESSION could be in your possession and never again will an insipid day strike for when it does, simple read a page ANY page of this book and nothing but wonder and awe will follow from it.

 

I’m clearly slightly addicted to this book, I worry that I’m going to go into withdrawal, that every book I devour after this one will never again give me that same high. A.S. Byatt’s words are literary crack. I want her poetry to swim in my veins,

Leave a Reply

