Medonsa and artistic difference

Medonsa and artistic difference. (Medonsa story 2) 

Medusa

“Do you mind If I take your photo. Just like this. Before I stone you? I want to hang the picture of you next to the stone version in the gallery. Your freckles are just so beautiful. They light up your face like this cosmic display and I’m worried that when I turn you to stone your just going to end up marbled in that sort of way that the imperfections in your skin will be erased. It’s always tricky trying to turn people into the right sort of stone that speaks to their pose and their character. Mother is really good at it. Her recent work in Obsidian has been incredible. I mean don’t tell her that, but after all of her endless sort of phoned in statues that she has been working on for what feels like AGESSSS, I think that her work in Obsidian is actually like a rebirth of her own artistic career…

Oh really…

A few of them were featured in Vogue last month. Just online, but you know they are talking of doing a real shoot with her in the coming months. Capturing her at work and the likes. An exposes on how she makes her art. She’s normally so private about it. But you know if you’re not going to recreate yourself every once in a while then your just going to fade into obscurity…

Can you tilt your head back slightly…. Thanks… wow… this picture is really good if I do say so myself. I wish my stone work felt as alive as my photography. Maybe its in the way I let you gaze upon my snakes. Maybe I’m doing it wrong…

Yeah well its not like I can ask really. the process is so quick, a few seconds really. It’s like once you have seen them BAM your stone and I mean though I really would like feedback from my models, your dead so it’s not like I can ask…

Oh… I’ve never thought of that…

Yeah I mean I guess I could call me friend Cassy, she’s pretty good at seances…

You would do that… really?… come back and speak to me about what the experience was like being stoned. I mean I CANT even begin to tell you how awesome that would be for me. I feel like it would really give me opportunity to grow as an artist you know. I don’t want to be stuck making terrible works for my whole life, but authentic feedback is so challenging…

WAIIIITTTTTT you went to HillKraft Arts Camp as well!

No. I Never went but the first boy I had a real crush on, Jacob, Jacob Decotas, went there….

Not sure I can remember the year… It would have been when we were about 14, so… yeah… just over ten years ago I guess…. Where does the time go….

Same time as you!? Thats crazy… did you know him?.. Well it was a long time ago…

Anyway you were saying before we got side tracked…

That is an interesting way to appreciate ones art sure, But saying “All artistic failures are the artist striving to accomplish that which has not been accomplished,” sounds a bit like a failed artist trying to validate their poorly received work, or the fact that they are incapable of completing tasks. being lazy you know….

No i’m not trying to be difficult its just that art is art and its not so mysterious. I mean a statue is a statue, its just that some are better then others for what ever reason….

no that does not prove your point…

No i think that….

LISTEN If you don’t quite down I’m….

Well yes, if you don’t shut the fuck up I’ll just turn you to stone now…

Because I can…

No I don’t think that means I’m running from my problems….

No…

UGHHHH… HA… HA…. lets see you speak now. Shhhhhh Oh his name was Jacob Sauster, not Decotas… ohhh I wonder if knew Jacob Sauster…. I wonder where Jacob is… I’m talking to myself again… I wonder…”

Medonsa continued to sit on the stool and stared off at the walls of her studio space. they were perplexingly bare. Perhaps it is the Mise-en-Scene, that is wrong here. She thought, as she twirled a snake into a tight kink and then let it unfurl around her finger. The statue of the young man she had picked up at the Dio’s cafe was disappointingly mundane. Even in her rage, in his rage even, the statue felt remarkably lifeless, cool. His arms were all wrong as well. hunched up around him, they destroyed any sense of elegance and left the whole piece feeling unbalanced. She considered breaking them off. Perhaps she should do just a series of arms. She looked around the studio and her eyes alighted on a half finished joint from the day before sitting in-between an ash tray and a book she was not reading but left out casually so that she seemed well intentioned. She lit it, inhaled and stared at the stone body of the young man. Yes. Perhaps I will do a series just of disembodied arms. She inhaled, reached over, and wrapped her hands around his biceps. the stone was still warm to the touch. She gritted her teeth, het body flared green for a moment with exertion and she ripped his arm from his body.

Leave a Reply

